Outstanding games of the winners of elllobregat Open Chess (I)

Game that gave the Grandmaster title to Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan, winner of the first edition of elllobregat Open Chess and participant of the fourth edition to be held from November 30 to December 8, 2023.
GM Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan, primer ganador de elllobregat Open Chess

Game that gave the title of Grandmaster to Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan, winner of the first edition of elllobregat Open Chess and participant of the fourth edition to be held from November 30 to December 8, 2023.

The chess tournament elllobregat Open Chess has become one of the most important at international level. In its last edition, the champion was the Indian player Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan, who became Grandmaster by defeating GM Antonio Rogelio of the Philippines. Narayanan has planned to keep improving his level to reach 2600 ELO points and now up to 2700 as he currently has 2656, a goal that not many players can reach. He has achieved very good results in several very important and high-profile tournaments such as: he beat the elite player Sergey Karjakin in the Aeroflot Blitz, 4th in the Asian Continental Open 2019 or 2nd in the ChessMood Open 2021.

The strongest chess tournament and of great international reference is approaching to celebrate its fourth edition, we are talking about elllobregat Open Chess, the tournament that the magazine El Llobregat organizes, we. It all started in 2019 in the city of El Prat de Llobregat, where the first edition took place with a total of 197 participants (130 in group A and 67 in group B) whose winner was the Indian Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan or, simply Narayanan. The second edition was held in Castelldefels in 2021 and not in 2020 due to health measures before the COVID-19 and the participation was 157 players in a single group, the winner of the tournament was the Uzbek GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov, and the last edition that has been held, the third, was in Sant Boi with a participation of 225 players of over 40 nationalities and the champion was the Iranian M. Amin Tabatabaei.

Our international tournament, elllobregat Open Chess, has established itself as the number one in the national ranking of open tournaments and has been selected by FIDE to receive financial aid that very few tournaments have achieved in the world.

Given the magnitude of elllobregat Open Chess, we want to show you some games of the winners so you can see with your own eyes, the level and the great demand that has required and will continue to require.

First, we will show you the game of IM Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan of Kerala with which she was able to win the Grandmaster title at the 2015 Philippine International Open. He was always known as a child prodigy and, with a crucial victory in the last round of the tournament, became India’s 41st Grandmaster.

Earning his final Grandmaster (GM) norm in one go, Narayanan defeated GM Antonio Rogelio (2478) of the Philippines in the tenth and final round, thus achieving 2500 ELO points. After the game, Narayanan commented, “I wasn’t sure if I would become GM even if I won the game, as I also had to cross the 2500 mark.” The tournament had double rounds even on the last day; before the round, Narayanan didn’t bother to check the details and said, “I was trying to save energy and put my maximum effort into that game. In the end, it turned out to be a convincing win.”

“Narayanan, tired and relieved, has added that he feels truly happy. He thanks his parents, coaches, friends and his school for the constant support,” said the 12th St. Thomas standard student. Mary’s HSS in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. After reaching his goal of becoming a grandmaster, he is now aiming to surpass 2600 ELO points: “My goal is to surpass the 2600 mark and my plan is to work even harder to get better results.” When asked about his immediate plans, he replied: “After finishing this month, I will take a break and focus on my studies.

Currently, Narayanan has 2656 ELO points and has won numerous tournaments.

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 e6 3. Nf3 c5 4. d5 exd5 5. cxd5 d6 6. Nc3 g6 7. Bf4 a6 8. a4 Bg7 9. h3 Qe7 10. e3 O-O 11. Bd3 Nfd7 12. O-O Ne5 13. Nxe5 Bxe5 14. Bxe5 Qxe5 15. Qd2 Nd7 16. Rae1 Rb8 17. f4 Qe7 18. e4 f6 19. Kh1 Rf7 20. b3 Qd8 21. Nd1 b5 22. axb5 axb5 23. Ne3 Kg7 24. Ng4 h5 25. Nh2 Ba6 26. Nf3 Qb6 27. e5 dxe5 28. fxe5 Nxe5 29. Nxe5 fxe5 30. Rxf7+ Kxf7 31. Qh6 1-0


Scroll to Top